Adjourning…The Bittersweet Stage!

Image

“The “adjourning” stage the project is coming to an end and the team members are moving off into different directions.” (Abudi)

While reading the definition of adjourning, I thought about my cohort group that I was in when I was working on my first masters. We took just about if not all of our classes together. It was awesome! Some of us worked together in groups to do presentations, while others worked together in a group to do research. Thinking back on my cohort, our adjourning stage happened when we graduated and everyone went their own way. For me it was a bittersweet moment, I was happy to graduate with my masters but I was sad to see my friends leave.

I think adjourning is an essential stage of teamwork because in a sense reality sinks in and you then realizes that you might not see any of your classmates or colleagues after you finish this project. Leaving or the end of something is always sad or bittersweet.

Adjourning from the group of colleagues with this masters will not be as hard as adjourning from the colleagues from my first masters. The difference between the two groups were the amount go time that we spent together. The cohort group that I was apart of while I was working on my first masters, we saw each other two to three times a week, for almost two years. The online cohort is different because we change colleagues from class to class and we are not seeing each other two to three times a week. Even thought we “chat” with each other at least two to three times a week, the bond is still different when you actually see someone versus chatting with someone from time to time online.

Reference

Abudi, Gina http://www.projectsmart.co.uk/the-five-stages-of-team-development-a-case-study.html

Leave a Reply

